Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do all Big Joes have hinge and lid fitment issues?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do all Big Joes have hinge and lid fitment issues?

Ok so I ponied up big time and went with a BIG JOE.....to say I regret it would be a understatement. I did an enormous amount of research on all of the kamado companies and made a decision to purchase the one that I believed had great value and would hopefully hold up for the long haul. I don't make a lot of money and $1600 is quite a bit for a "grill" as my girlfriend put it.....but I explained how it was something that would "hopefully" outlive me! However, I don't feel this has been the case.

Let me preface this by saying I'm a chef and because of that I cook.....a lot. I currently have nights off and will use my grill 4-5+ nights a week or more.

I am actually on my second BJ....I was sent a replacement because of the issues I had (hinge, pinholes, etc). The first one I received had the expansion joints cut into the firebox and fire ring...The second didn't, and as you can imagine, the fire ring broke......I will commend KJ for their quick warranty replacement service but I'm disappointed that I've had to use it soo much.

Anyway onto my biggest issues: The lid hinge never really being adequate to hold up the lid and the gasket failing in less then 3-4 months.

I can never get my lid to stay up on its own.....it's especially fun at 700 degrees trying to slide a pizza on. When I crank down on the springs in the hinge enough to get it to actually work it leaves a gap and the rear left side. I have adjusted bands etc to try to get rid of this gap. No luck. I am now wishing I would have bought a black banded grill now as my SS bands are sooty and gross.

The gaskets....I'm not entirely sure, may just be a product of inadequate hinges. They seem to flatten out extremely quickly and if the lid doesn't fit perfectly it leaks like crazy.